Pleated, Pressed Flowers

It’s time once again to get rid of some of my stash that I have hanging out in my cubbies. This stash buster is from one of my favorite dresses, Flower Maxi. I’m actually surprised at how much fabric I have left. That was a massive maxi dress!

No pattern used for this one. I kinda had an idea of what I wanted and took different aspects from other items I’ve made in the past.

First stolen idea: I wanted a pleated front and back that allows for a more fitted top at the bust but then opens up to feel more flowy around the hips. The pleats I’ve done in the past on my Kitty Dress.

Snip snaps to hold the back closed.

Second stolen idea: The back was going to be a split placket in the back with a snap to close it. The split placket, I’ve made on the Granny Shirt.

That’s really all there was to this top. I wanted to try to add petal sleeves too but those turned out like shit. I’m not even 100% I like these ones but they’ll do for now.

You can see the room I have at the bottom. Super light and airy. Good for hot days in the AZ. What you can’t see because it really was a stupid addition on my part, was a fancy stitch on the hem. I used navy thread that blended in. Absolutely pointless.

End thought: I don’t know if the front pleats or the back keyhole is my favorite. It actually turned out just as I expected. When does that ever happen? Can I get a “hell yeah”?

Leave a comment