Pepto Flower Bag

Still not in garment sewing mode here. I have a few projects that are partly done but I’m just not feeling their next steps. Lately when I’ve been going in my sewing room, it’s whatever seems like the best thing to work on. So what was the best thing to work on today? A rather large clutch/crossbody bag.

I’ve made bags in the past but usually without a pattern. It’s kind of a crazy free for all. What do I need in the bag? Lots of pockets? Do I need to carry my whole life in it? Do I want it large or small? These and so many more thoughts go into my bag making. Well LBG Studio just made it a lot easier for me. They have the Lexie Foldover Bag pattern. It can be a clutch or crossbody bag. Do you want it large or small? Well they have that option. Do you want extra pockets? Zipper pockets? Accents? A whole butt load of pockets? YUP! They have all those options in this one pattern. It’s really unbelievable!

When I sat down to determine what I wanted for my bag, I decided I wanted it all because why not? I chose:

    Large Size
    Front Accent
    Front Pocket
    Front Welt Zipper Pocket
    Internal Pockets

It’s really crazy how many options you can have with this bag and I have to say the instructions are awesome at illustrating them all. Also, I’m horrible at reading instructions. I just don’t. I figure I know what order things should go in since I’ve been sewing for so long and that is so not the right thing to do with this. I started by sewing pieces together that shouldn’t be so I had to rip them apart and that was all I needed to realize that I don’t have a damn idea of what I’m doing. Even after this realization I kept trying to skim the instructions (I don’t like instructions) and kept getting lost and confused. Every time that happened and I actually read the instructions it quickly got me back on track.

Let’s take a closer look at the bag!

Here’s two pockets in one shot. The welt, zipper pocket that always seems so intimidating but never as bad as it seems. The other is a deep front pocket that you can see the majority of my hand going into. It goes to the bottom of the bag. This bag is serious when it comes to pockets.

I couldn’t get a good shot of the inside pockets. Probably doesn’t help that I have a bunch of stuff in the bag. I started using it right away! On the left side of this pic, there’s a set of two pockets. They’re made from one panel of fabric so the pockets are side by side. Good for small stuff like a mirror, chapsticks, three lip glosses and other random things that usually run rouge in your bag.

I did choose the adjustable option for the strap. I got this little slider for $.25 at a local fabric store. I’m happy I chose that option because I change the purse from a crossbody to a shoulder bag. It’s nice to be able to have a choice.

You can see on Gert that when I open the whole bag up it’s really tall. I can fit a bunch of stuff over and fold the top over. It doesn’t have to necessarily make it down to that magnetic snap. Everything in the bag is secure though. You have the zippered top so no worries of anything falling out!

This pattern is truly amazing! The options alone are worth the buy. I’m already planning on making this bag again in denim. I have a lot of leftover bits here and there and I think it would be super awesome and versatile.

Leave a comment