Theirs vs Mine

Pinterest: Success or Fail?

For the hubby’s b-day treat, I made a peach cobbler. Since it’s one of my fav treats I figured it would be best to make him a backup dessert just in case I devour his peach cobbler on my own. I found a recipe for a Reese’s Cup Cheesecake. The recipe comes from Taste and Tell blog. The cheesecake looks extremely rich and chock full of the hubby’s fav candy.

I have never made a proper cheesecake from scratch with the whole spring form pan and all. I didn’t feel deterred by this. I’m pretty stubborn and with the mindset “if I see it, I can do it”, I started off.

I’m going to say outright that making this cheesecake is expensive! Luckily I didn’t have to buy a spring form pan, I borrowed it from Mom. The recipe calls for a 9″ and she had a 10″. That’s pretty much the same thing.

RECIPE
Crust:
30 Oreos
6 tablespoons Butter Melted
Dash of Salt
Filling:
32oz Cream Cheese
5 Eggs
1/2 cup Whipping Cream
1 1/2 cups Brown Sugar
1 cup Creamy Peanut Butter
1 teaspoon Vanilla
12oz Reese’s Cup Miniatures
Ganache:
1/2 cup Whipping Cream
1 cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
8oz Reese’s Minis

I’m not going to go into complete detail on this because you can check out Taste and Tell’s blog for a complete break down. Start out by making the crust and squishing the mess into the spring form pan. It’s all nice and shiny from all that butter…makes me a little sick.

20140705-102239-37359840.jpg
So here it is after baking.

20140705-111640-40600731.jpg
See how the sides that I so carefully built fell down? Bunch of crap. Oh well, we trudge on! When making the filling I strayed from the recipe. I know, I know. Not smart for someone that has never made a cheesecake like this. I do not care! I have no fear! 🙂 Instead of using all the brown sugar I may have only used 1 1/4 cups. I was talking to Hubby at the time and not paying strict attention to what I was doing. I also didn’t use all the Reese’s miniatures. I used probably over half. I figure this is saving me a few hundred calories, not that this is in any means a low-cal treat. This is how many I used. I think it looks like a ton of little cups. You can see the on lookers in the back that will be eaten at a later time by Hubby.

20140705-111503-40503990.jpg
I baked the cheese cake for 1hr and 20min again straying from the recipe. I’m such a rebel. It has a slight brown color across the top. I don’t know if this is right because the original recipe doesn’t really tell you what it should look like. I was starting to think this recipe is for people that have made cheesecakes before. Not good for me.

20140705-112123-40883525.jpg
Here she is cooled and out of her spring form. I really wasn’t sure when was a good time to remove it. It didn’t say. I was terrified either it would stick to the sides and just tear into pieces or run everywhere like a gooey mess. Neither happened so I was already feeling triumphant. Now onto the ganache.

I’ve never been good at melting chocolate. It constantly seizes up. I’ve tried the microwave method and stove top. Neither are my friend. So creating a ganache had me quaking’ in my boots. Honestly it didn’t come out bad. It was smooth but seemed a little runny. I tried letting it cool off a bit but it still wouldn’t thicken. Again the recipe didn’t tell me what my consistency should be. Chocolate syrup? Hot fudge? Mine was leaning more towards the syrup. I poured it on very slowly afraid of creating a giant pool of chocolate on my counter. I sprinkled not even half the bag of minis on top and here’s what I ended up with.

20140705-113026-41426431.jpg
I’ll admit she turned out pretty. The amount of time it took to make her was ridiculous! People, it took all day! Needless to say, I don’t care how much Hubby loves it, it’s never being made again. The taste is okay. I don’t know if it’s because it’s my first cheesecake and I don’t know what I’m doing but I give it an “Eh”. Not “Best cheesecake ever!” and not “Eww that’s awful”. I’ll say it’s a Pinterest Success. It’s edible, Hubby likes it, and she’s easy on the eyes.

20140705-113508-41708782.jpg

Leave a comment