Retro Knit

One of the deals I made with myself this year is that I need to stash bust more. This shirt plays right into that. I had quite a bit of fabric leftover from my Bridgetown Dress. Which on a side note, I’ve started buying less fabric and defying the envelope suggestions. Anywhere between 1/4 – 1/2 yard less.  I did this on my last two #sewmystyle projects and I lived to tell the tale. Maybe it’ll keep my stash from growing!

What did I make with my scrap fabric? Simplicity 1365 a vintage halter top pattern. I’ve made the pattern once before with a cotton yellow gingham. I didn’t make it as shown which is pretty typical of me with all patterns anymore. I knew I didn’t want a buttoned up back and didn’t have enough for ties to go around the neck. I also did not line the bust because it was completely unnecessary.

I cut the bodice pieces longer because the top is meant to stop at your hips. No crop tops, please and thank you! I negated the area for overlap in the back since I wasn’t going to need the button-up bit. I do have to say the bust pieces are so much easier to put together when you don’t have to line everything. So how do you keep the whole thing up since I wasn’t including the tie-straps?

IMG_3059

I made one long strap. This guy had to go around my neck, under my arms and meet in the back. On top of that, it had to have the right amount of stretch. Too little the whole thing looks stretched out and too much, I’m putting on a show for everyone around town. I believe it was at this point that I realized I had made a mistake.  The back bodice piece was not supposed to have the strap across the stop.  It’s actually supposed to start under the arm.  I wasn’t paying attention to the instructions because I was doing my own thing.  Oh well…

IMG_3061

I did add a bit of clear elastic across the back just to make sure there was a tight stretch there. I didn’t want my bra to pop out randomly. I have a thing about undergarments saying “hello” when they’re meant to be hidden. I get ladies like to wear bras as outer wear but that’s a different situation. The bra is meant to be out on display. Randomly playing peekaboo out the back of my shirt…uhhh no.

IMG_3057

Looks sort of like a a retro swim suit right? Not that I ever go swimming but I can totally see how easy this pattern would be to adjust.

IMG_3060

It was something quick and easy to make with a bit of fabric.  Now it’s time to see what good use I can put the rest of my fabric to.

6 comments

    1. Thank you! It’s so comfy. It’s amazing what you dream up while at work. LOL I even made a note to myself to use this fabric and pattern together because I knew they would be a perfect match.

      1. I’m the same… my best ideas come when I’m daydreaming at work. So much more exciting to focus on than actual work!

    1. Thank you 🙂 I love a good retro swimsuit and I would love to try to make one but I never go swimming! You don’t normally lounge in the house in a bathing suit but maybe I could start a glamorous trend? LOL

Leave a Reply

