Pirple Blurple

I’m well on my way to working through my 2017 make nine. I completed pajamas, Jamie Jeans (even though they sucked), Simone dress and now one of my favorite patterns, B5526. That makes 4 out of 9 and with it being early March, I shouldn’t be scrambling to finish my list on December 31. I’m feeling optimistic people!

img_1649

I completed my Jack of All Trades shirt last year and I wear it so often. It’s easy to wear with jeans and it’s a quick go to. I knew I wanted to make another and I had bought an gradient cotton from Fabric.com that I was planning on using for one of my other favorite tops, a Sorbetto. For whatever reason, I changed my mind on its use. The fabric has a gradient of pink to almost a bluish purple.  I figured it would look best if the gradient went from top to bottom compared to left and right.

I had 1 yard to work with, which would be just fine for a Sorbetto but not B5526. I sat with the fabric and two pattern pieces for quite sometime. I turned the fabric and patterns this way and that. The fabric wasn’t big enough. I needed a new plan. If I cut the pieces without the proper width at the sides, I should have enough to squeak out panels to add to the sides. This also leaves enough for the collar and front placket. No little sleeves though but that’s okay.

img_2478-1

Ideally, I wanted the placket to blend in on the front but with the minimal fabric, that wasn’t an option. I was worried that since I was going to have a dark placket it was going to look like a pieced together turd of a shirt.  I forged on anyways.  If it looks bad, it will still be comfortable and it can be a weekend top. I picked a dark piece for the collar too.  I was hoping if both pieces matched it would look intentional on the bright pink. I did have an oopsy with the placket.  I followed the same instructions (IndieSew) I did on the Jack shirt.  Somehow my placket was not straight across at the bottom.  It was more of a 45 degree angle.  I did fix it but now I have a bit of a puckering, bubble type deal going on.  It’s not super terrible so if I can ignore it, I believer the rest of the world can too. I added a little snap to the placket to keep the ladies from trying to put on a show. You may ask why I just don’t make a shorter placket. Well, I think I have a big head or something because I need that snap undone to pop this guy on.

img_2477

Blur alert!  My blue chair is perfectly in focus. Because that’s what’s important. *eye roll*

I tried to use the same tone for both the panels on the sides so they matched. They ended up being 3 1/2″ wide by about 17 1/2″.  I stitched them in place and added a bit of top-stitching to keep everything flush inside the shirt.

img_2474-1

I recently purchased a Clover Bias Tape Maker.  Oh man!  I don’t know how I had the patience to make my own bias tape prior to having this little gadget.  I’m in love. The gadget + continuous bias tape making tutorial (Collete) makes me all kinds of giddy. I did make the bias tape purple. It does not match the purple on the shirt but in my heart they go together.  I used it around the arms and at the bottom of the shirt.  I had one arm done and popped on the shirt to make sure everything was sitting fine.

img_2480-1

Check out the Pirple Blurpleness.

The arm hole was a bit big.  You could see my bra under my arm and the straps at the back.  Well shit… Clever girl that I am, I added a bust dart.  I didn’t need it for shaping but it did take 1 1/4″ off the arm.  It worked like a charm. Always making it work!


I think it turned out pretty decent. The dark collar and placket were totally not a big deal. I don’t normally do sleeveless shirts like this style but I think it works.  I need to lift weights a bit more so I have something a little more worthy to have lost my sleeves for.

5 comments

  1. I think the darker placket was the best choice (even though there wasn’t much of a choice!). This really is a stunning top and I’m so glad you were able to “make it work” with the added dart. ❤

    1. I think it did work out really well with the dark fabric too. It’s okay when the plan doesn’t go as originally expected sometimes. I feel Tim Gunn would be proud. 🙂

  2. Fab top, I think the purple placket and collar look great and intentional. The dart was a fab idea too. Thanks for mentioning the bias maker, I’ve been thinking of getting one for ages so it’s great to know they work.

Leave a Reply

