February: Project Sew My Style

img_2275
We’re at month two of Project: Sew My Style.  February’s make is the Saunio Cardigan by Named. I think quite a few people have the same sentiment when it comes to this month’s make,”This is so not my style”. I love a good cardigan, but finding an acceptable heavy weight sweater knit fabric is near impossible and the dropped shoulder…uuggghhhhh… I detest a shoulder seam that does not sit at that bony little mass I consider my shoulder.


I searched high and low for a fabric I liked. I saved a few images and every time I went back to them I deleted them all. I gave up and decided my sweater had to be lightweight. I came across a great eggplant sweater knit at Stylish Fabric.  It says that it’s a thick Hacci fabric. Which means it’s a lightweight sweater knit. 

The cardigan has a short length and if you read my January Sew My Style post you’ll know I’m not a fan so I added 4″ to the bottom to the small size. I thought about making the neck area wider so it would come closer to the neck and straightening out the curve on the front pieces near the neck so it looks more like a waterfall. I did change my mind before cutting because I felt I owed it to the pattern to make it “as is” except for the length. I can’t do a shorty cardi.

One thing I despise about Named patterns is the overlap of the pattern pieces on the pdf. Fron past experiences with the pattern company, I knew to print out two copies of the pattern. If you traced the pattern, you wouldn’t need to print multiples and figure out the puzzle to have all pieces whole at the end of the ordeal. Taping together pdf patterns is already a chore, and I really would love it if Named figured out a better and faster way to print their patterns. With that off my chest, let’s push forward!

img_2450
Cutting out the pieces went super fast. I used my serger for all the seams because little bits of knit were flying everywhere! Purple confetti people! The construction of the sleeves was a little different than I’m used to. Usually I sew the sleeve length then sew onto the completed bodice. This instructs to sew the sleeve piece on the bodice then sew the length of the entire side of the cardigan all the way to the end of the sleeve in one swoop.  This way was a little difficult to get the seam perfectly lined up under the arm.


This sweater was a nice quick sew. I finished it in one sitting which is rare for me. I did add a bit more top stitching. It’s a little hard to see in the picture.


I didn’t put interfacing on the front facing pieces. With the fabric being so light it would have shown through and it wouldn’t have a floppy, relaxed look.


Immediately when I put it on I really didn’t like the bulk it created between the facing and the front at the hem. I need to figure a way to deal with this for any future versions.


I’ve worn this sweater twice now. The first time I felt okay about it. The second time I felt better. It’s super comfy and the fabric is so soft but my eyes zero in on that dropped shoulder seam every time. I just have to not look in the mirror when I wear it. That’s possible right?

I’m not making the garment for March. I don’t wear leggings except to exercise or chill in my Tardis jammies. So next up for me will be April’s Sew House 7 Bridgetown Dress.

3 comments

  1. I’m not sure on this pattern either but yours does look great, I think it looks far better floppy and relaxed and the colour is gorgeous, yours is definitely my favourite:)

    1. Aww that’s super sweet. Thanks! The color is amazing on this fabric. The pictures do not do it justice. I have seen a few structured saunios and they are super cute but you really have to find the right fabric. I plan on giving the pattern another go but I want to tweak a few things to make me a bit happier overall.

Leave a Reply

