Happy New Years! Blog Review.

Hello and I hope that everyone had a happy and safe New Years. Without further ado, let’s get this review started with my goals from 2016.

  • New Thurlows. I have some silvery denim that would be great for this pattern. Hopefully they hold out better.

This one is done. The pants are holding out way better than my first pair of Thurlows. I’m not 100% happy with the fit though. I’ve got a bit of pooling right under the buns. The pattern did get me 2 pairs of shorts though. I’m going to do another muslin before I make another pair. I have some fabric that’s waiting.

  • Jamie Jeans. I bought some stetch “denim” from Fabric.com especially for these. Then the fabric arrived and it’s so not denim. Oh well, it will be good practice for when I get the real stuff. Plus it’s navy blue so I’m thinking Han Solo pants.

Check this one off too. I made the practice pair Han Solo style just like I wanted. I even stitched the Rebel logo on the pockets. I did make a pair of proper denim Jamie Jeans too. More about those in a bit.

  • Button down for Hubby. I want to make him a gawdy holiday shirt to go with my holiday skirt. It’ll be epic!

This one is complete and I did it with the help of some kittens. Hubby picked out his own fabric and has received countless compliments. I’m sure part of it is because of the fabric and part because it fits so well. He loves his shirt and has worn it multiple times this holiday season.

All my goals met! Super happy with myself. Let’s continue with that positivity and check out my top three hits from last year.

Hit #1

img_1649

Jack of All Trades

Loooovvveeee this shirt. I wear it almost once a week. It’s a modified B5526. It was my first time doing a partial placket. It’s so easy to throw on with a pair on jeans. I plan on replicating it with pink/purple gradient fabric.

Hit #2

img_1669

Jamie Jeans

I made real and proper jeans! The denim has the perfect amount of stretch and weight. I’d like to make another pair in the new year. I also have another jeans pattern that I’d like to try out too.

Hit #3

img_1997

Kitten Holiday Shirt

This shirt is so unique and special it had to make my top three. The fabric itself is adorable. The person I made it for (Hubby) is the best guy ever. Combine the two and you have have the best Jamie-Made shirt. Anytime we would go out to eat or attend an event, he was rocking his kitten shirt. Makes a girl proud!

There were a lot of things this year that I just loved so narrowing it down to three was hard.  Let’s move on to the misses of 2016.

Miss #1

img_1501

Purple Persuassion Shorts

I made a couple pairs of Thurlow shorts this year.  This one is on the naughty list because of the fabric.  It has stretch in it, but isn’t resilient enough to snap back and keep its shape throughout the day. Love the color but by mid-afternoon, I have to keep yanking up your saggy bottoms.

Miss #2

img_1475

Pillowcase Top

This is a shirt made from my beloved Colette Sorbetto pattern.  How could it be considered a miss? Fabric again.  I have no idea what I did to it. It’s happy, shiny sheen is no longer there. It’s faded and looks like it has dried soap on it. I’ve hand washed it, tenderly babied it’s delicateness and it still looks like crap. It’s in my closet in hopes that I’ll figure out something to do with it.

Miss #3

img_1541

Cuckoo for Coconuts

I’m happy to say this one isn’t because of the fabric.  It’s a super soft, vibrant rayon.  You can’t be mad at that! It’s simply the neckline. It’s so wide and slides around my shoulders and lets my bra dance it’s own little peep show. I do wear it but there’s a lot of adjustment throughout the day.

Picking my misses was about as hard as picking my hits. My sewing over the past year has been a lot of happy times and not so many “crap, what am I going to do to salvage this train wreck” moments. Hitting all my goals is amazing. The amount of unselfish sewing has been great but don’t expect that to grow. That small amount was plenty!

So what’s coming up in 2017? What’s my goals?

  • Participate in Project Sew My Style being put on by Alex from Bluebird Fabrics. This is a full year sew-along. I’m putting this out there now: Sorry March, but there’s no leggings in my future so I’m skipping that month.
  • Use my fabric stash. I have enough fabric for 13 projects. Each piece of fabric has a pattern mate already chosen. Just need to sew! The only fabric I’m going to buy is for Sew My Style until I get through my stash.
  • Learn at least one new technique. There’s a lot of techniques out there, flat fell seams, Hong Kong seams, etc. Never thought to try one out and I think it would be good to expand my horizons.
  • Make more dresses. This is a simple one but I think a necessity. I have a lot of separates and I like the easiness of pulling one item out of the closet without a need to match. So it is on my list just to feed into my laziness.

That’s it! It’s been a good year for me sewing wise. I got a new friend, her name is Katherine from Babylock, back in July and her and I get along beautifully. She’s been making my sewing a lot easier and I think she really contributed to the happy sewing.  I look forward to the coming year not only for my sewing but all the great things my fellow bloggers turn out!

6 comments

      1. Oh no! Well if it makes you feel better, my 2016 started out with a few sewing fails. Can’t wait to see them 😉

  1. Great review, you’ve made some fab stuff this year and look forward to seeing more this year.

    1. Thank you! I think I’ve learned a lot over the last year and I look forward to the upcoming year. Lots of fun sewing projects are going to be hitting my table this year!

Leave a Reply

