Jamie’s Jammies

In the distant past, I mentioned that I was crocheting some lace edging for some pajamas. I had made a Colette Sorbetto sometime ago, even though I tried to be lazy and wear it as a shirt, which it honestly matches with nothing but itself so it was always meant to be jammies. I was going to make super wide legged comfy pants to go along with the shirt but changed my mind. I wanted shorts. I’m a bit indecisive sometimes and my projects kinda evolve.


I came across a pattern for boudoir shorts a while ago. It’s a free pattern (yay free!).  The legs have a crossover split so it’s a really free pattern. Get it? Free money wise and free feeling thighs. Anyhoo, one of the pictures show a pom-pom edging so I figured why not lace?  A thing you might not know about me, because it only randomly pops up here on the blog, is that I’m a crocheting machine. I crochet like a river runs. Knitting, not so much. When I thought of doing the lace I figured I could knock it out in a month. I don’t crochet a lot much anymore so it does make my hands sore and I’m not known to work on 1 thing at a time so this seemed feasible. I mentioned the idea in another post on September 2. I finished the lace in early December. Let’s just say my goal was not met and let’s not calculate how long it actually took me. 


I cut out the pattern for the shorts based on my measurements and then I would be able to calculate how much lace I needed.  The only parts I was able to sew together was the side seam and crotch. Other than that, I needed the lace to complete piecing it together.


Please excuse the black bra throughout the pics. After “trying on” what I had, it was quickly evident that these were very soggy diaper crotch sitters. I took 2″ off the top to bring them up to the proper height and another 1- 1 1/2″ off the side seams because the panel that crossed on the front didn’t sit on the front but instead was creeping ever so closely to my lady bits. Not exactly where you want flaps flying in the wind.


I crocheted my lace, which we all now know took me forever. I had Hubby save a week’s worth of used coffee grounds. It’s not a whole lot in the end because he’s the only one that drinks it and I didn’t want to waste fresh grounds. I boiled some water and threw the grounds wrapped in a coffee filter in the water. Once it looked like all the coffe had seeped out, I threw in the wet lace.  I needed just a hint of color. White was too light but cream/natural thread was too dark.


With that done, I could now finish my shorts. I made pink cotton bias tape and finished the legs. I zigzagged the lace onto the shirt and shorts. I figured it would be the quickest and most secure stitch. I would have liked something decorative but all the little stitches would have jerked the fabric around too much and then the lace wouldn’t look clean around the edge.


I used 1/2″ elastic and left over bias tape to create my little waistband.


As if crocheted lace, a Sorbetto top and boudoir shorts wasn’t enough, I made an eye mask. I wasn’t going to but I had leftovers and I saw the cute holiday pressie that Self Assembly Required was making. Sometimes you can’t help yourself. The pattern is from Tilly and the Buttons. Guess what? This pattern is free too.  This post is made of three free patterns!


I’m feeling fancy and me and moose are ready for bed! This fabric was meant for jammies, Jamie’s jammies.

5 comments

  1. Free patterns are the best! These came out really cute and I think the crocheted trim takes it up a notch. 🙂 That fabric is just too fun, too!

    1. Thank you! I completely agree about the trim. It looks extra special and feels that way too since I went the extra mile to crochet. I just wish I would have gotten my rear in gear and knocked it out a bit sooner. It’s been a little chilly for a summery pj set. Hasn’t stopped me from wearing it though!

  2. Love, love, love these!! I definitely need to try making those shorts. Also well done on crocheting your own lace – very impressive! 👏🏻👏🏻

Leave a Reply

