What up, Shortie?

I have now made my fourth(?) pair of Thurlows. Once I get stuck on something I can’t seem to stop. Jamie Jeans, B5526, Sorbetto and Thurlows. I’m a junkie and they are my drugs. Eventually I would like to get the booty to fit a bit better on the trouser version but that’s not part of this discussion. It’s all about the shorties!

img_1475

I had leftover denim fabric from when I made the trouser version of the Thurlows. So sick of me to use the remnants for another pair. I couldn’t think of anything better to use it for and I could really use more shorts living out in the AZ.

img_1498

I have made the shortie version before, again with leftovers from another Thurlow pair of trousers but they met an early demise. I do find them super comfy but after a few (who am I kidding, a ton) of wears the excess fabric in the legs is annoying. If they were made with a crisp fabric that could hold a crease, I could see the need for the extra room. Too tight and the crease disappears. With this fabric I can go tight. Not painted on tight but fitted. Fitted sounds much less trampy than tight.

image
I used a red and white polka dot fabric on my pocket lining. I only have a smidge and this seemed like the only logical use for it. I didn’t use it on the waistband like I normally do because I really didn’t have enough for all that. I did continue with the red and white theme when picking buttons and my zip. A cute little red button on the inside and a little white zip for the fly.


I couldn’t help not using my alphabet function on my sewing machine. I picked my brightest pink thread to stitch “Thurlow” inside the waist. Even though now I think about it, I should have used red to keep in theme but I love bright pink so I was in the moment. I took out 1″ in the rise and left off the welt pockets again.


I’ve got this down to where I can make them without using the instructions. I did mess up the fly zip though because I was still stuck in Jamie Jeans mode and they are so different.  Whoopsie! It all was sorted in the end.


I’m sure these poor beasts will get a lot of wear with all this heat and plus they’re so adorable! I feel like I need a polka dot shirt to match my pockets. Of course no one would know about the matching but me. So maybe polka dot undies? lol

4 comments

  1. These are so cute! And hey, tight vs. fitted – it doesn’t matter as long as you ROCK IT! 😉

    Wahh this reminds me I really need to get on making a pair of Thurlows. I got as far as taking the pattern out of hiding and laying it on top of the fabric I’m pairing it with on the bed in my sewing room. Maybe this winter…. maybe….

    1. Thank you! I still think my fitting needs a bit of work. I think I can get the booty to fit better. I just need to take the time out to do it.
      You have positive intentions. The pattern is out AND you have the fabric bought. You’re at least a third of the way there. You only have to cut it out and sew it together. That’s the easy part right? 🙂

      1. Haha I think what’s holding me up is I need to trace the pattern first. I never want to cut into patterns that cost more than $10, so I always trace them. It’s a pain in the @$$, but I’m sure I’ll love myself for it one day…. maybe.

Leave a Reply

