2nd Blogiversary

Originally I wasn’t going to write an anniversary post. I’m still doing the same thing, I’m trying to get better and I wish I was faster. I think that’s all the typical things you’ll find most sewists would say. Then I thought, I’ve been doing this for 2 years now. What really does the normal person stick to for 2 years? Cutting out soda, trying something new at least once a week, exercising (ack!)? Most of these things people have trouble sticking to. You know why? Because it’s hard to commit to something you don’t like. But I LOVE to sew. I love to create things! All the things! So why am I avoiding celebrating that!?!

Let the celebration commence!

image
Best pic I’ve ever posted by the way…

Even though this post is a few weeks late, let’s take a look back over the past year.

Number of posts: 24 That’s pitiful! I swear I’ve been busier than that. Maybe that’s because I’m a tad slow.

Items made: 21 How do I have more posts than makes? That would be Me-Made-May’s weekly round-ups.

New patterns used: 4 I found this number interesting because most of my makes are not repeat patterns (I’m looking at you Sorbetto) it’s self-drafted stuff. Weird right?

image

Favorite item: This is almost like choosing your favorite child. I’m going to go with the item that gets the most wear. So not only is it a fav but it’s dead useful. Blackout Sorbetto, you are my fav. Your fabric is great and your plain, black fabric, that doesn’t wrinkle, goes with everything.

img_1577-1

Most hated sew: Hands down that would be Vogue 9001 aka You Dirty Rat. I get so many compliments on the dress and it’s fun to wear (drinking + spinning is fun! weeeee!!!) but you really pissed me off and made me question myself as a sewist. How rude!

A few side items: I participated in my second Me-May-May! You can read all about it in my recap here. I bought a new sewing machine but I’ll talk a bit more about that in my next post. (Shhh… It’s Jamie Jeans by Named)

Goals for the next year: Continue being awesome. Hehe Try some new patterns and techniques. Flat fell seams, Hong Kong seams and all the other weird jazz I hear everyone else talk about.

It’s been a great year in blogging/sewing for me. I’m happy to have the great sewing connections that I have. Fellow bloggers are great, inspiring, talented, and above all encouraging! There’s been so many times I’ve felt defeated and a fellow blogger has said something in a post or directly to me that has helped my sewing mojo. For that, I am thankful! Thanks to all the people that read my little blog. I’m glad you’re sticking it out with me. It’s been an interesting journey and I’m sure there will be many more fascinating ventures for us to go through together.

 

4 comments

  1. Congrats on your blogiversary! I can’t believe you’ve only been sewing for two years and only have 24 posts, I feel like I’ve been reading your blog every week for years (I hope that sounds as complimentary in text as it did in my head 😀 )

    1. Thank you and I totally take it as a compliment! It does feel longer than two years thinking back on what I’ve accomplished. I’ve made pants multiple times! That was always the most scary thing to me. I don’t even know if I can name an item that could make me feel so intimated now!

  2. Congratulations! Welcome to the Terrific Twos! I love your recap themes like most hated sew and new patterns used. And yes, continue being awesome because I love your blog! ❤

Leave a Reply

