Me Made May ’16 Recap

It’s time to recap my second year of Me Made May participation. First let’s take a quick look back.

‘I, Jamie from Mac’s Crafts www,jamielmac.wordpress.com and @jamie_l_mac , sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear one handmade “JamieMade” item each day for the duration of May 2016’

So excited to participate in my second me-made-may!
img_1624image
The month flies by when you look at it that way. So here’s my break down:

  • 35 separate pieces of Jamie-mades
  • 14 tops/blouses
  • 8 skirts
  • 6 trousers/shorts
  • 3 accessories
  • 2 dresses
  • 1 jacket

Four of those items were new makes for the month. Which isn’t too bad for me especially after all the trouble I had with the maxi dress and I’m a slow sewist. So what did I learn this year from Me-Made-May?

I need more tops to go with some of my separates. I couldn’t wear a few of my skirts because the tops I would normally wear them with are sweaters. It’s just too hot where I live now for sweaters in May. I think if I had an arsenal of Sorbettos in a rainbow of colors I would be covered. I’ll put that on my to-do list.

I feel like I’m still struggling by the end of the month. There’s certain items I love and those are the first to get worn. The final week is a scrounge of items I have left.

I’m a better sewist now. When I am getting to those scrounged for items, I realize that I don’t wear them all that often because the construction is a bit shotty, the fabric choice was poor or I didn’t know how to fit things properly. One good example of bad fit is my black and white plaid cotton shirt. The shoulder seam is on my arm and not my shoulder. That kind of thing drives me crazy now but when I first made it I was so chuffed with myself for cranking out a shirt.

I assume as I continue with the Me Made May participation my wardrobe will easily be able and ready to handle the month. Let’s hope 3rd times the charm. Looking forward to next year. If you participated, how did your month go? If you didn’t, what’s the hold up?

One comment

Leave a Reply

