Solo. Han Solo. 

This post could also be titled WTH? Keep reading to find out why.

I bought stretch denim on Fabric.com. When it arrived it was not denim but more of a knit, kinda painted like denim, stretch something. WTH!?! So not as advertised. If anyone remembers those infomercial sweat pants that looked like jeans, this is that stuff.

I was dying to try the Jamie Jeans pattern by Named. I bought it almost 1 1/2 years ago and was always too scared to try it. This WTH fabric would be great for a muslin. It has good stretch and it would simulate actual stretch denim. If I made a good effort, these could be a wearable muslin. I’ve been itching to make Han Solo pants. Why? No idea. I just want to! Stretch navy fabric and Han Solo are a perfect match.


I bought the Jamie Jeans pattern as a pdf. If you ever bought a pdf pattern, you’ll know the pain of all the taping.  As if that isn’t pain enough, for some reason, Named decided to overlap some of the pattern pieces. Either you have to have two copies or have tracing paper. WTH!?! You seriously couldn’t have avoided doing that? It’s already a pain in my butt but now you make even more time consuming. Really? You couldn’t have made it just a few more pages longer and not overlapped? End of rant.

I cut out my fabric quite quickly but waited to sew for a few days. Needed to let that pdf anger go. I finally sat down to sew and quickly realized my anger flaring up again. The instructions were very minimal. There needs to be corresponding numbers along with the names of the pattern pieces and numbers on the pictures too. The instructions and photos are so minimal. I had to sit down and add the numbers everywhere because I couldn’t understand WTH was going on. After that things started to come together. Until I got to the fly zipper.


I’ve completed a fly zipper 3 times now. All of them on Thurlows. I thought they were moderately easy to understand. These instructions made it so unclear. I had to redo the zip 4 times. 4! WTH!?!


I added blood stripes down to the bottom of the pockets and finished the waistband. I saved the pockets until last because I really think you need to try on the pants and then pin the pockets to the back. I think this ensures good placement.


In trying to entice myself to wear the crap fabric pants, I added the Rebel Alliance logo to each pocket. I stitched it by hand. I know if I tried to do it on the machine it would come out awful and I’ve already have had a bad enough time.


They don’t really photograph well since they are navy blue. I’m not sure how I feel about these. I like the shape but the fabric is crap. I think they might be lounge pants or worn to see Star Wars. Oh, and of course for May 4th. Why that day you ask? May the 4th be with you. Major dork and not gonna apologize!

On a side note, I signed up for Me-Made-May ’16. Whoop whoop!

‘I, Jamie from Mac’s Crafts www,jamielmac.wordpress.com and @jamie_l_mac , sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’16. I endeavour to wear one handmade “JamieMade” item each day for the duration of May 2016’

So excited to participate in my second me-made-may!  You’ll be able to check out all my handmade goodness on my blog at the end of the week or on my Instagram.

9 comments

  1. I’m not a huge Star Wars fan, but these are pretty darn awesome. You did a great job with your half-real pants/half cosplay! I especially love the back pockets and the bartack stripes down the sides. ❤

    I've had my eye on the Jamie Jeans for a while but wanted to get through my Gingers first before taking the plunge. The fit is really good on you – did you sew a straight size or did you have to grade between sizes?

    1. Thank you! I did sew a size 10. I had to take about 1 1/2″ out of the waist in the back. Other than that everything was right of of the box. The seam allowance is 1 cm. I’m going to sew my next ones at 5/8″ so they’re a little snug. I’d like them to be a little more fitted. I just hope they don’t end up looking painted on. lol

Leave a Reply

