Grey Jacket Cuteness

I love free patterns. Free patterns are every sewist dream. This free pattern comes from Camelot Fabrics. It looks like they do this on a weekly basis so I would be sure to check them out frequently. The pattern I went for is the Cropped Jacket tutorial.

Jacket Turned Out

Jacket Closed

I didn’t think the cropped look would work on me so I lengthened it by about 4″. I used grey suiting that I bought from Fabric.com and black lining from JoAnn Fabrics.

Sleeve

The pattern was easy to cut out. I’m not sure I understood why the sleeve was in two pieces and not one. Next time I’m going to cut it as one to avoid the seam.

Edge Stitch

The pattern didn’t mention that you should edge stitch the lining to keep the lining from rolling to the outside when it hangs. I did it on my Doctor Who waistcoat and it seemed like a good idea on this.

Finished Jacket

I’m happy with how the jacket looks especially with the extra length. This is a really easy beginner sewing project. I’m sure I’ll make another. I was thinking hot pink with paisley lining. Fun, bright and much more me!

Back

I might make the back piece a bit bigger next time to make the jacket hang looser. This really was a great pattern and did I mention it was free!?!

One comment

Leave a Reply

