Banana Bread Cookies

Pinterest: Success or Fail?

I’m excited about this challenge because it comes from The Girl Who Ate Everything. If you haven’t checked out her site before you are missing out. I haven’t tried a recipe from her that I thought tasted like crap.

This post is for her Banana Bread Cookies. I love banana bread! My favorite fruit may be apples but banana bread is just the best. It’s easy to make and is always quickly eaten in my household. The cookie style is appealing because I don’t have to butter and flour any pans.

RECIPE:
2 1/2 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2 large bananas)
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

As always let’s start with what I’ve changed. I used dark chocolate chips instead of the mini ones and I substituted the sour cream with a 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda (suggested by one of her readers). That’s it. Like I said previously, her recipes are awesome!

Butter

I melted the butter on the stovetop as per the instructions. One of the smells I hate is melted butter. It makes me want to barf. I think of those nasty little breakfast sandwiches from McDonalds. Straight-up butter smell. Yuck! Anyways, not really sure I understand why you do this until it turns brown and frothy. Why can’t the butter just be melted?

Dough

That’s the only assembly step I really followed. Everything else was dumped in my mixer and blended together. I put the mix in the fridge to setup a bit. This makes it easy to scoop them out and plop them on the cookie sheets.

Dough Balls

The mix turned out 36 cookies. By my calculations, it’s about 72 calories per cookie. I don’t think that’s too bad. The taste of the cookies is great!

Finished Cookies2

The next time I make them I will cut out the chocolate chips and add another banana. I like a strong banana taste. I’m not against the chocolate it gives a different taste but it does overwhelm the banana a bit. I deem this one a success. I can’t eat just one and find myself snacking throughout the day on them.

Leave a Reply

