Floral Secretary

This shirt was supposed to be made during the summer (oops!). It is made out of the same type of material as this shirt. I wanted a secretary style shirt and I thought with the floral fabric it would look great and be ultra feminine. Of course now it’s winter but that’s okay because that’s what cardigans are for.

SecretaryCard?w=620

This fabric was bought at the same Joann’s Red Line sale that I bought the other. It’s some sort of see through poly. (I don’t know fabrics all that well. For all I know it’s a cheap version of chiffon.) What I have failed to mention is that the previous button up shirt has a hole in it. This stuff is not the nicest thing to sew with. I have a serger and used it on both shirts. Not really sure how I can keep the fabric from fraying out on the edges even after being sewed together.

SecretaryFront?w=620

On the secretary shirt I cheated, I had two very small spots that needed attention on the ruffles because they frayed out. I used some fray stop and very carefully put it in the seam. I’m hoping that will help and last through the washings it’s going to go through.

SecretaryBack?w=620

The shirt is made out of four pieces. The front, back and two lengths for the tie. Did I mention this was “Jamie Drafted”? It’s a pretty boxy shape but the fabric is super drapey so it falls in all the right places. I did use a small piece of black interfacing on the collar so it stands up. Did you know they make black interfacing!?! I didn’t but this opens new possibilities.

SecretarySid?w=620

Really, this shirt took way longer than it should have. Actually all my sewing projects take longer than they should because I don’t have a designated sewing space. I have to haul out the sewing machine or serger and plop them on the coffee table.

SecretarySass?w=620

The things I would have changed about this shirt is probably a different fabric, made the neck bigger (fitting my head through is a bit snug) and possibly sewing the ties down a bit further along the collar. I’m still really happy with it… As long as it holds together. 😜

Leave a Reply

