Chain Chomp Glass

A few weeks ago (or more like a month), I painted the piranha plant glasses. I had fun making those glasses and I wanted to paint another glass but something a little different.

I figured I could make a chain chomp. Can’t be that hard right? I started with the head, teeth and eyes. I used the same technique that I used for the piranha plant. I drew the face on the glass and painted it in. The teeth were a little complicated because of the sharp lines. I used a pin to clean up any wonky lines.

IMG_0377.JPG?w=620

This is the main part all done. Simple but time consuming. Love the scary teeth!

Onward to the sucky part… The chain. If the stem of the glass was shaped like a chain (I’ve seen them before but this beauty was a quarter at a garage sale), it would have been a lot easier and quicker. I started the same way with the outline drawn in marker. I painted a grey base for the chains. I mixed a lighter shade of grey for the center of the chains to give them a 3D effect. I took a toothpick and very carefully outlined all the chains with black.

IMG_0378.JPG?w=620

Up close and personal with his lower extremities. No one is ever going to look at him that closely so it didn’t need to be that perfect. I don’t think it turned out too bad.

IMG_0375.JPG?w=620

I baked the bad little guy and here he is in all his glory.

IMG_0373.JPG?w=620

This is my favorite shot. Durrrrr.

Leave a Reply

