Piranha Plant Wine Glass

This little Mario inspired craft I’ve made many times. It’s probably about the fifth set of glasses I’ve made. I end up changing the technique every time too.

IMG_0302.JPG

There’s three colors of paint. Red for the flower, white for its spots and green for the stem. I use two different kinds of brushes for this project. I use an angular brush and a teensie weensie little brush for any corrections.

IMG_0285.JPG

I find the easiest way to start is to draw the lines on the glass with a washable marker. This way I have an idea of where I need to paint, the proportions come out right and I can easily wipe it away.

IMG_0286.JPG

You can see the lines on the glass. I’ve already started to paint the white spots and I’ve got a coat or two of green on the stem of the glass. I paint the entire bottom of the glass too. Without painting the bottom, you can see through the glass and it makes it look streaky. Once I put on a coat of white, I wiped away the marker with a damp paper towel.

For the majority of the project, I use the angular brush. I used to paint the red portion of the flower first and then paint the spots on top. I find that makes the white spots a little pink. I also do all my brush strokes in the same direction (This may be an OCD moment 😒). I find it easiest to make them all vertical.

IMG_0295.JPG

Paint the red and then I touch-up the white with the teensie weensie brush. It took about 3 coats to get a solid color. If you need to, you can scratch off the paint around the edges. I took a small pin and gently scraped any paint that went outside my original lines.

IMG_0290.JPG

The bottle doesn’t say how long to let dry between coats. I do a coat in the morning and then again in the evening. If you add a second coat too soon, it will wipe away your first coat and kinda clump. Once everything is all painted you’re supposed to let it sit for 4 days to cure. I let it go a couple days and call it good enough. Bake the glasses to set the paint.

IMG_0296.JPG

All done and ready to use. I hand wash my glasses (I don’t have a dishwasher so there’s no other option). I haven’t had any issue with the paint chipping off. You can adjust the design of these by adding teeth or leaves. Everyone that I’ve gifted these to are always excited to receive them. Of course, we’re all a little dorky too!

Leave a Reply

